Capture the Moments of Your Day

Bashayr Alabdullah
2 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Homework for life

A while back, my coach suggested I try journaling. At first, it was tough to write down my daily life and emotions. But she advised, “Just write anything, don’t overthink it.” I recall my first entry was simply, “just write anything!” To my surprise, I soon found myself engrossed in writing about everything, not just my day. This “homework” became essential for a deeper understanding of myself and, unexpectedly, others as well.

Each day, I begin my journal with a pivotal question: “Am I okay today? How did I feel?” This inquiry not only aids in self-understanding but also highlights the events that evoke particular emotions.

While reading Storyworthy by Matthew Dicks — an incredible book I highly recommend — I was introduced to the concept of “Homework for Life.” Inspired, I incorporated two additional questions into my journaling routine:

  1. What is today’s story?
  2. What is the thing about today that has made it different from any previous day?

The true revelation came in realizing the multitude of moments that fill my day, previously unnoticed. For example, one day, after reflecting on my day’s story through journaling, I found myself eagerly sharing a multitude of stories with a friend. This act of storytelling brought her immense joy and highlighted how the simple act of journaling can lead to meaningful exchanges and deeper connections with those around us.

We live in a bubble of tech and social media around us that makes us ignore the enjoyable moments in our days. It’s not always that we have an amazing day, but writing down our story for the day will help us understand our feelings and needs. Shifting our perspective can profoundly alter our view of the day.

Just five minutes before bed can make a significant difference; it’s not time lost, but memories gained.

--

--

Bashayr Alabdullah

Salam, I'm Tech Engineer 🚀. I blend technology insights, inspiration, and fun in my feed. #innovation #discovery 🥑🎶🎯🌻 *my personal -own- thoughts*